I’ve been in Tasmania for a week now. It’s been pretty good, no issues.

On the Christmas Day, the 25th, I had a short ride scheduled. The accommodation for the night would not be open if I arrived early, and shops and cafes would all be closed.

Fortunately, my course for the day ran along the most beautiful coast line. I stopped at an amazingly beautiful beach, where there was nobody else. I let waves touch my feet, but it was a little too cold to venture in for a swim, especially because there was no lifesaver, obviously…

Then another beach.

Then I rode off to the end of the beaches where I could see at the far end, only a few km further down.

‘As Life Should Be’?

Sounds like a great place already!

It was a dead-end road, but I wanted to see if I could make it to the tip. Past a park where a family gathered on the grass for Christmas lunch, I crossed a small bridge. But then it looked like a steep gravel, without a view through to what is ahead of the next corner/hill. I turned back.

Then somebody from the lunching family yelled out and came towards me. He asked if I would like to join them for some food. Would I!?

It was a family of Frank, a local sculptor, MTB rider and surfer, with his kids and partners, and some of his grand children, some of whom live in the area, others came interstate.

We chat about my trip, the COVID in Victoria and here, art, cycling (they were interested in my Surly as well). Delicious prawns and pavlova, the classic Aussie family cake, and some drink. Played barefoot soccer with the kids, and it was already time for me to head up to St Marys Pass to the bed for the night.

Christmas is a time for family. But they saw me a solo traveller, and invited to be a part of their private gathering, which was amazing. It really turned my solo peace by the sea day into a beautiful festive day on a beautiful sunny day in the park.

For that, thank you Frank, Dane and everyone in the family.