NYC

(Continued from the previous post)

Stepping out of the Grand Central, I walked in the snow towards the Central Park. Some people told me of a gallery along the park. I figured I could walk across the park before having a brunch and coffee at the gallery, somewhere warm. Young figure ice-skaters are performing on the rink cheered by their peers. This openness, of people stopping by to watch while eating hot dog, is what I’d imagined it would be like in New York.

While I was struggling with the operation of the new small camera in my gloved hands in front of snow-covered field, a guy in well-worn work pants and warm-looking jacket carrying a guitar case walked past. I glanced at him, and he glanced at me. I asked him where he was headed on a cold snowy day in the park with his guitar. He tells me there are a few placed, covered and suitable for playing music and still find some audience. So that’s how my plan for the day started to change. Why not spend time with the locals rather than finding my solitary moment in the art gallery?

NYC

NYC

NYC

NYC

Lyman got up to the stage and started to warm his fingers. It is an open-air stage, with a plaque indicating this has been dedicated to musicians of the city. Nice! Unfortunately, it was getting colder and more snow was beginning to come down, so people were not able to hear the music from his guitar. We moved on to the space under the pillared roofing.

NYC

Soon a couple of his friends joined – Miriam and her little son. Miriam is a self-taught singer who turned out to be a pretty skilled opera singer. And her son is just a cute little boy who tells the story of the monsters and super heros and what not, while swinging guitar around his little body.

NYC

NYC

NYC

NYC

NYC

NYC

NYC

NYC

NYC

NYC

NYC

NYC

We got well-chilled so decided to stop by at the Boathouse for some warm lunch.

NYC

NYC

Miriam has promised her son they’d go ice skating. It was hard to believe given the snow storm, but it was apparently the last day of the ice skating in the park. We walked back into the city street and made it to Bryant Park.

NYC

NYC

NYC

NYC

NYC

NYC

After the ice skating at Bryant Park, with Lyman and Miriam

