20140221_1835_1532.jpg

It was a long journey, from home in Tokyo, to the international airport that is good hour away, then strapped for forever in for a long haul to the East Coast. After a quick stop and sprint to the next gate, I was on another flight to the Caribbean. Before spending the entire week in the air-con rooms by the sea, I had a Sunday to walk around the charming old town of San Juan, Puerto Rico.

Route map: Tokyo - Atlanta - San Juan

 

San Juan

San Juan

San Juan

San Juan

San Juan
Just chatting and snapping the local law officers, who are friendly and all smiles.

San Juan

Lovely walls painted in pastel colours, blue brick cobbled road, there is something traditional and authentic about it all. It is one of the low-cost retirement destination for those in the mainland US, particularly if they like the view of the blue ocean outside their window.

San Juan

San Juan

San Juan

San Juan

Walking across the city, I came towards the coast side again, to check out yet another old fortress. This is really the first opportunity to make the full use of the new camera – my second Fuji. It’s been a while since I had the standard 35mm equivalent angle as the standard angle of view so it was still not yet intuitive when it comes to visualising the framing before pulling the camera up to my eye.

San Juan

San Juan

San Juan

San Juan

San Juan

San Juan

San Juan

San Juan

San Juan

San Juan

After checking out the fortress and sitting down in the shade for a cold drink, I came across a side road where a man was trimming the potted plants outside a house surrounded by cats.

San Juan

San Juan
‘Pirate’ for the obvious reason πŸ™‚

San Juan

These cats are fortunate to have such loving neighbours… It was funny to find out the gentleman is retired but had previously worked with one of my day job’s clients, from different service he provided. Small world that I should stop by and chatted to find that out.

San Juan

San Juan

San Juan

San Juan

San Juan

San Juan

San Juan

While spending all day walking under the hot sun in the humid air, it is important to hydrate, and eat food full of energy. And of course, a good coffee…

San Juan

As we come out from the popular cafe after lunch, it starts to spit. The temperature surprisingly dropped and I realise I took too many super tropical, Singapore-spec outfit and not enough warmish summer clothes with full sleeves.

San Juan

People are enjoying their sunday chatting to friends in the square, whatever the weather. The popular game around here is domino. Everyone’s betting, there is always one person with a notebook taking down the final score as somebody wins at each of game tables. As the rain comes down, they grab their folding chairs and move down to the area under the cover.

San Juan

San Juan

San Juan

And the sun goes down as the rain cleared as quickly as it came…

San Juan

Mr Photographer, Arthur who was taking head shots for my colleagues at our function – we are all not used to being in front of the lens, but he was charming and gracious when I asked to photograph him.

San Juan

San Juan

After spending a week, I spent very little time on the sand. It was a shame. But it was a productive week so it is ok. Still it made me jealous when I heard people talking about going to Cuba on their holiday the week after. That is where I should’ve been, too. Why commit so much of your life to your day job when that does not enrich your life but only pay the bill? My time off is over due. I’m thinking about it now. I’m gonna miss Cuba on their last days before modern cars start to fill their roads. But there are other places that I wanted to be lost walking in, or catching up with friends on the other side of the world..

San Juan

San Juan

San Juan

San Juan

San Juan

San Juan

