Thank you for all your ‘Like!’ on WordPress and Facebook! I’m glad you liked the small collection of street shots in my previous post. After the several tough days back in the real world, it’s finally Saturday. I can see some lovely colours of autumn in the drizzle outside my window, but on a day like this, it can wait… the sun won’t be too harsh even if I started shooting in the afternoon. So here I am, selecting some of my favourites from the weekend trip, editing to the monochrome and the right contrast as I envisioned. A bit of work, as always, but the result is always worth an effort. And I know, in a few months or years from now, I come back to look at the same photo and want to re-process them… But for now, these will do.

Love to hear from you. What you like, what my images bring to your day, all that… happy to chat on Facebook page as well. But that’s for later. Let’s just show you the images.

Needless to say, all the images are copyrighted. As much as I appreciate your liking my images, please respect the right of artists. We work hard to make it happen.

Taipei

When I boarded the Eva flight at Haneda, I found myself sitting next to a friendly gentleman from Taiwan. He gave me some great tips on the kind of places I might enjoy walking and shooting. He was spot-on! Thank you so much, Steve!! I gotta buy you a meal when you come back to Tokyo next time sir!

I got on MRT near my hotel just north of the Songshan (松山) airport and headed south west of the city, near the river. Steve told me this is where I’d find some old neighbourhood and less tourist traffic. I hit the big temple first. It was a chorus of chanting, with everyone chanting in unison. Strong sense of solidarity and warship.

Taipei

Taipei

Taipei

Taipei

Then I came across one of the night markets. Bowing and saying hello as I when I travel in a foreign place, I met this group of aunties who were so friendly they posed for a shot for me.

Taipei - aunties at the night market

Taipei

Taipei

Taipei

The last and only time I’ve been to Taipei previously was when I was 12 years old. My family and another family of my cousins’ came here for a few days, before flying across for a few days more in Okinawa. I remember how the scooters all came ahead of cars at the red lights and scrambled full boost, then cars, and even our bus going so fast we were almost thrown to the floor every time it made a start, stop and turn. It was not as crazy when I saw it this time around. They say there is a stronger control to ensure the scooters do not run red, or cut the path of pedestrian, etc. Maybe it is that. Or maybe I got more accustomed to this way after travelling places like Vietnam several times… That reminds me that I have not yet visited Saigon, HCMC if you like to sound more modern…

Taipei

Taipei

Taipei

Taipei

Taipei

Taipei

Taipei

I found another night market, finally had the famous pork leg rice (though not the ‘famous’ one that they apparently showed on TV), and headed back to the over-priced large hotel room that I booked at the last minute…

