Istanbul - Karaköy

Mun, a fellow traveler from Korea I shared lunch table with, and I were down by the sea in Karaköy Kabataş. I was checking out what the place is like. It was a Sunday afternoon and people were enjoying the sun, kids were jumping into water in their underwear. I passed this old man who is chipping into the old concrete structure. Odd. I then went on to chat to some kids and ended up making a few shots, as I would normally do.

Istanbul - Karaköy

Istanbul - Karaköy

Istanbul - Karaköy

Then I noticed the old guy was still chipping into the block, and saw how he seems to be reflecting on it every few times he hit hammer into it.

Istanbul - Karaköy street artist Erol Sürmen

Istanbul - Karaköy street artist Erol Sürmen

Istanbul - Karaköy street artist Erol Sürmen

He told me his name is Erol Sürmen, and he’s looking for ‘kinetic form’ that exists in the object, and just bringing it out. I hope you can now see what that shape is…

Istanbul - Karaköy street artist Erol Sürmen

Istanbul - Karaköy street artist Erol Sürmen

Istanbul - Karaköy street artist Erol Sürmen

Istanbul - Karaköy street artist Erol Sürmen

I’m having a little trouble sending him an email. If you happen to know where I can contact him, please put that in the comment below. I’d like to be able to share those images he’s generously allowed me to make.

What did I say – you’re never short of art and cats around here!

