Istanbul - cats at No Name Gallery

Just in case you cannot tell from this photograph, I am in Istanbul, Turkey. I am on my way to Japan, via Israel, and decided to take one-week break, here in Istanbul. I have no guidebook (I was planning on buying an iPad Mini, and load it with a Lonely Planet guide, but I did not buy the tablet, hence no guidebook…), and I had little time to research so I really had no pre-conceived idea of what to do. I just booked my flights and accommodation, and here I landed.

Istanbul - accommodation

The gentleman behind the reception counter at this small hotel (described as ’boutique hotel these days’, but really they just mean B&B kind of small hotel) gave me an extremely simple book of maps, covering the main part of the city, and he gave me a few tips. As I always do, however, I started walking without knowing where I was going, and I just landed upon this small gallery that hang some interesting looking paintings on its glass window. A gentleman opened the glass door and invited me in to have a look. But it was not just him I met…

Istanbul - cats at No Name Gallery

Istanbul - cats at No Name Gallery

Istanbul - cats at No Name Gallery

Istanbul - cats at No Name Gallery

Istanbul - cats at No Name Gallery

Istanbul - cats at No Name Gallery

Istanbul - cats at No Name Gallery

Istanbul - cats at No Name Gallery

Most of the kittens are of this mother and are 2 weeks old. There are a couple additions, however, from a different cat, who the guy does not know, left abandoned outside their door one day.

Istanbul - cats at No Name Gallery

Hey, don’t go exploring in my bag! You may end up in another continent when you wake up!

Istanbul - cats at No Name Gallery

Istanbul - cats at No Name Gallery

Istanbul - cats at No Name Gallery

Melik is an artist, who runs this gallery with a couple other artists. He loves to look after the cats, but he would really like to find a home to some of them and keep maybe a couple. Finding such new owner is proving to be difficult, he says. Many people love playing with the cute kittens but they won’t take them…

Istanbul - cats at No Name Gallery

He generously allowed me to photograph the cats in the gallery. We have two things in common: we love cats and we love art.

Istanbul - cats at No Name Gallery

Istanbul - cats at No Name Gallery

Istanbul - cats at No Name Gallery

Istanbul - cats at No Name Gallery

Istanbul - cats at No Name Gallery

Istanbul - cats at No Name Gallery

Istanbul - cats at No Name Gallery

Customers walked in, traveling from the US and considering a couple of paintings to hang in their house. Watching the tiny ones bumping against their feet bring smiles to everyone’s face.

Istanbul - cats at No Name Gallery

Istanbul - cats at No Name Gallery

After spending good amount of time with Melik and cats, I knew my stay in Istanbul would be a pleasant one!

You can find Melik’s works on his portfolio.

 

