Osaka Station

The JR Osaka Terminal has completed the major renovation works since I last visited a year ago. While in town for a quick shopping, I decided to check it out.

This is where a square used to be in the old days, with a fountain of the pissing boy. It used to be one of the most popular meeting places when you meet someone in Osaka. It’s been long since they closed off that area (when they started the renovation), but I am pleased to see that there is a sense of square again, now split into the ground level (first photo) and up-stairs (the next photo).

Osaka Station

Osaka Station

Osaka Station

Up in the sky, there is another square. It seems the escalator is coming up from the world below.

Osaka Station

The old Osaka station used to have lots of small steps of 2 or 3 here and there, after years of land sinking under the weight of structure and the welling of the ground water. The maze of escalators here and there, some going down towards another one down different directions, somehow reminded me of those old days, of walking in a straight corridor and coming across 3 steps up, and 2 steps down later.

Osaka Station

And the terminal is a terminal. It is a place to meet people. You stand against a column, flip through your paperback, and wait for her to show up. The world may pass you by, but you are in your world. Ah, I love the station.

 

You might have noticed that some of my photos on this (and other) blog are not available. Flickr seems to be playing up with their settings while protesting against changes in US anti-piracy legislation or rather. I think it’s great they protest against any moves that take away our freedom and rights, but I cannot agree with anything that affect the rights of paying member. I am not paying annual service fees to Flickr to hide my publicly displayed photos without permission… My apologies to you if you have come across this. I am sure things will normalise in a few days, and I will look through pages to ensure all the links are back to normal. If you still see the issues then (say, in February or later), please do let me know as it may be something I am caught unaware! Thanks again for your visit to my blogs. Please do leave comment, email me, or buzz me if you know me personally!

