Last post on Tatsuno city’s fire fighter’s new year ceremony are the photographs I made of people I met on the 9th of January. Just in case you have not noticed, every image is clickable, so that you can view a larger version of it. Please take your time and view image at its larger view. Leave your comments there or on this blog post. I love hearing your feedback, and that’s what keeps me going when I’m photographing people at events like this. Please also email me directly if you prefer not to post your comment in public.

Everyone’s in fresh-pressed blue uniform on a cold morning, lined up and waiting for the ceremony to proceed. Some are in their official attire.

What started as just a board with grid of numbers…

Boys and girls of brass band from the nearby school, well done to you all!

There was oyster grilling, the famous locally-made noodle boiling, sweet sake and sweet red bean soup, all on offer for free, but I was just too busy photographing to queue for them! I missed out and left the place hungry…

The big fire is up now, burning all that was last year and behind us…

There were bridges in the air…

Kids learn about the prevention of fire from this early age…

All the fire trucks lined up by the river bank and started spraying the water out of their nozzle. It was an impressive sight, until only a moment later when the wind picked up and blew the water towards us. I got soaked, but I at least got a beautiful image like this one…

Tatsuno was a beautiful little town. That is not the closest place from my hometown, maybe, but I am already tempted to going back there, perhaps on the night of a summer festival, to see people wandering around town lined up with those old houses and red lanterns…

