I have a long afternoon to kill in Hong Kong. I’m sure the modern airport has enough to do, but staying indoors at a modern facility has never been my thing. Besides, I do get packed in the airport when I have little choice, so when I do, I would rather be elsewhere.

Hong Kong is not a tiny remote island state where you walk through immigration and find yourself on the main street. I went there in January with my brother for the first time, so I think I know what to expect. Rather than catching a bus into downtown, I prefer to walk around a quiet town somewhere, find a noodle soup stand and have a simple cheap meal while flipping through a paperback or the Lonely Planet for Korea (which finally arrived after the lazy local courier did not buzz on my door and put a missed delivery note in my post again!).

The Japanese guidebook for Hong Kong I bought for the trip earlier in the year had been left at my parents house in Osaka where I went to Hong Kong from. I don’t really care for a guidebook, really, when I have a day or less. Rather than knowing what to look for / at, I want to just land myself, walk around, and surprise me. I might be inspired by the view and light and click away with my camera. Or maybe I just find a comfortable looking bench by the bay and sit down for a while. It doesn’t matter. No expectation – that’s the best way to travel.

Tung Chung 東涌 used to be a quiet farming village. However, according to Lonely Planet, it has gone though a massive transformation into a residential area. I wonder if this is near those huge apartment blocks I saw from the bus on freeway at night when we arrived. The freeways ran through many suspension bridges across the bay. It looked beautiful. Tung Chung is probably not facing that bay, but it sure sounds like an interesting mix of old area preserved and the modern high rising apartments. Being the residential area, I am sure there will be some cheap eating place along the road. Most of all, it is VERY close to the international airport.

If I’m mistaken, and it is just a cold boring town, then what have I got to lose? I still get to kill the time in the warm 20-degree seabreeze. Noodle soup for Friday dinner, anyone?

Osaka will be a crisp 7 degrees sunny on Saturday morning. I am a bit late for the dynamic autumn leaves in the trees, but there is still a lot happening in Osaka, I’m sure.

