journey by train - from Singapore to border to Laos
journey by train - from Singapore to border to Laos

On this journey, I travelled by train, wherever I can. As a child, I used to love trains (we don’t have the word ‘train spotter’ in Japanese, but maybe that’s what I was). I had train enthusiast magazines in my shelf and 9mm gauge model trains in boxes under my bed. I used to flip through a thick national train time table in my spare time, day dreaming about how I connect from one train to another, travelling to the unknown place on board the cheap local trains.

It’s been a long time since then, and I’m back on train again. I’ve heard about travelling the Malay Peninsula by train but my stereotype about the hygene and security (need I worry about theft?) prevented me from even considering that as an option. Besides, why go to Malaysia now, after all those trips I made in recent months to JB (the town just across the border from Singapore), KL (Kuala Lumpur) and Ipoh.

But now that it is about Thailand and Laos, and looking at the map I could see the rail connected all the way, my mind was set.

